Gold Dagger Award

2010 Belinda Bauer, Blacklands
2009 A Whispered Name by William Brodrick
2008 Blood from Stone by Frances Fyfield
2007 The Broken Shore by Peter Temple
2006 Raven Black Ann Cleeves
2005 Silence of the Grave Arnaldur Indridason
2004 Blacklist Sara Paretsky
2003 Fox Evil Minette Walters
2002 The Athenian Murders Jose Carlos Samoza
2001 Sidetracked Henning Mankell
2000 Motherless Brooklyn Jonathan Lethem
1999 A Small Death in Lisbon Robert Wilson
1998 Sunset Limited James Lee Burke
1997 Black And Blue Ian Rankin
1996 Popcorn Ben Elton
1995 The Mermaids Singing Val McDermid
1994 The Scold's Bridle Minette Walters
1993 Cruel and Unusual Patricia Cornwell
1992 The Way Through the Woods Colin Dexter
1991 King Solomon's Carpet Barbara Vine
1990 Bones and Silence Reginald Hill
1989 The Wench is Dead Colin Dexter
1988 Ratking Michael Dibdin
1987 A Fatal Inversion Barbara Vine
1986 Live Flesh Ruth Rendell
1985 Monkey Puzzle Paula Gosling
1984 The Twelfth Juror B.M.Gill
1983 Accidental Crimes John Hutton
1982 The False Inspector Dew Peter Lovesey
1981 Gorky Park Martin Cruz Smith
1980 The Murder of the Maharajah H.R.F.Keating
1979 Whip Hand Dick Francis
1978 The Chelsea Murders Lionel Davidson
1977 The Honourable Schoolboy John le Carre
1976 A Demon in my View Ruth Rendell
1975 The Seven per cent solution Nicholas Meyer
1974 Other Paths to Glory Anthony Price
1973 The Defection of A.J.Lewinter Robert Littell
1972 The Levanter Eric Ambler
1971 The Steam Pig James McClure
1970 Young Man I Think You're Dying Joan Fleming
1969 A Pride of Heroes Peter Dickinson
1968 Skin Deep (Glass-sided Ants Nest) Peter Dickinson
1967 Murder Against the Grain Emma Lathen
1966 A Long Way to Shiloh Lionel Davidson
1965 The Far Side of the Dollar Ross Macdonald
1964 The Perfect Murder H.R.F.Keating
1963 The Spy Who Came In From The Cold John le Carre
1962 When I Grow Rich Joan Fleming
1961 The Spoilt Kill Mary Kelly
1960 The Night of Wenceslas Lionel Davidson

Crossed Red Herring Awards
1959 Passage of Arms Eric Ambler
1958 Someone from the Past Margot Bennett
1957 The Colour of Murder Julian Symons
1956 The Second Man Edward Grierson
1955 The Little Walls Winston Graham