Royal Society Prize (Science)

2011 The Wavewatcher’s Companion, Gavin Pretor-Pinney
2010 Life Ascending , Nick Lane
2009 The Age of Wonder by Richard Holmes
2008 Six Degrees: Our Future on a Hotter Planet by Mark Lynas.
2007 Stumbling on Happiness by Daniel Gilbert.
2006 Electric Universe - How Electricity Switched on the Modern World, by David Bodanis
2005 Critical Mass: How One Thing Leads to Another, by Philip Ball
2004 A Short History of Nearly Everything, Bill Bryson
2003 Right Hand, Left Hand, Chris McManus
2002 The Universe in a Nutshell, Stephen Hawking
2001 Mapping the Deep, Robert Kunzig
2000 The Elegant Universe, Brian Greene
1999 The Man Who Loved Only Numbers, Paul Hoffman
1998 Guns, Germs and Steel, Jared Diamond
1997 The Wisdom of Bones, Alan Walker and Pat Shipman
1996 Plague’s Progress, Arno Karlen
1995 The Consumer’s Good Chemical Guide, John Emsley
1994 The Language of the Genes, Steve Jones
1993 The Making of Memory, Steven Rose
1992 The Rise and Fall of the Third Chimpanzee, Jared Diamond
1991 Wonderful Life, Stephen Jay Gould
1990 The Emperor's New Mind, Roger Penrose
1989 Bones of Contention, Roger Lewin
1988 Living with Risk, British Medical Association Board of Science