Spur Award


Best Western Short Novel: Snowbound by Richard S. Wheeler
Best Western Long Novel: Last Train from Cuernavaca by Lucia St. Clair Robson

Best Western Short Novel: Far Bright Star by Robert Olmstead
Best Western Long Novel: Echoes of Glory by Robert Flynn

Best Western Short Novel: Another Man’s Moccasins by Craig Johnson
Best Western Long Novel: Shavetail by Thomas Cobb

Best Western Short Novel: Tallgrass By Sandra Dallas, St. Martin’s Press
Best Western Long Novel: The God of Animals By Aryn Kyle, Scribner

Best Western Long Novel: The Night Journal by Elizabeth Crook, Viking/Penguin Publishing
Best Western Short Novel: The Shape Shifter by Tony Hillerman, Harper Collins Publishers

Best Western Novel (short novel)
Novel of the West (long novel)

2006 WESTERN NOVEL (tie) Camp Ford: A Western Story by Johnny D. Boggs
The Undertaker's Wife by Loren D. Estleman
NOVEL OF THE WEST High Country: A Novel by Willard Wyman

2005 WESTERN NOVEL Buy the Chief a Cadillac by Rick Steber
NOVEL OF THE WEST People of the Raven by Kathleen O'Neal Gear and W Michael Gear

2004 WESTERN NOVEL I Should Be Extremely Happy In Your Company by Brian Hall
NOVEL OF THE WEST So Wild A Dream by Win Blevins

2003 WESTERN NOVEL The Chili Queen by Sandra Dallas
NOVEL OF THE WEST Perma Red by Debra Magpie Earling

2002 WESTERN NOVEL The Way of the Coyote by Elmer Kelton
NOVEL OF THE WEST The Miracle Life of Edgar Mint by Brady Udall

2001 WESTERN NOVEL Summer of Pearls by Mike Blakely
NOVEL OF THE WEST The Gates of the Alamo by Stephen Harrigan

2000 WESTERN NOVEL Masterson by Richard S. Wheeler
NOVEL OF THE WEST Prophet Annie by Ellen Recknor

1999 WESTERN NOVEL Journey of the Dead by Loren D. Estleman
NOVEL OF THE WEST The All-True Travels and Adventures of Liddie Newton by Jane Smiley

1998 WESTERN NOVEL The Kiowa Verdict by Cynthia Haseloff
NOVEL OF THE WEST Comanche Moon by Larry McMurtry

1997 In 1997, the Western Writers Association decided to have the year of the award reflect material published in that year. Thus, the awards given out prior to and including 1997 are for the previous calendar year's material, while the awards presented post-1997 will reflect the same year.

1996 WESTERN NOVEL Blood of Texas by Preston Lewis writing as Will Camp
NOVEL OF THE WEST Sierra by Richard S. Wheeler

1995 WESTERN NOVEL The Dark Island by Robert J. Conley
NOVEL OF THE WEST Stone Song: A Novel of the Life of Crazy Horse by Win Blevins

1994 WESTERN NOVEL St. Agnes' Stand by Tom Eidson
NOVEL OF THE WEST The Far Canyon by Elmer Kelton

1993 WESTERN NOVEL Friends by Charles Hackenberry
NOVEL OF THE WEST Empire of Bones by Jeff Long

1992 WESTERN NOVEL Nickajack by Robert J. Conley
NOVEL OF THE WEST Slaughter by Elmer Kelton

1991 WESTERN NOVEL Journal of the Gun Years by Richard Matheson
NOVEL OF THE WEST The Medicine Horn by Jory Sherman

1990 WESTERN NOVEL Sanctuary by Gary Svee
NOVEL OF THE WEST Home Mountain by Jeanne Williams

1989 WESTERN NOVEL Fool's Coach by Richard Wheeler
NOVEL OF THE WEST Panther in the Sky by James Alexander Thom

1988 WESTERN NOVEL Mattie by Judy Alter
NOVEL OF THE WEST The Homesman by Glendon Swarthout

1987 WESTERN NOVEL Skinwalker by Tony Hillerman
1986 WESTERN NOVEL The Blind Corral by Ralph Robert Beer
1985 WESTERN NOVEL Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry
1984 HISTORICAL NOVEL Gone the Dreams and Dancing by Douglas C. Jones
1983 NOVEL Leaving Kansas by Frank Roderus
1982 NOVEL Match Race by Fred Grove
1981 NOVEL Eye of the Hawk by Elmer Kelton
1980 NOVEL The Valiant Women by Jeanne Williams
1979 NOVEL The Holdouts by William Decker
1978 NOVEL Riders to Cibola by Norman Zollinger
1977 NOVEL The Great Horse Race by Fred Grove
1976 NOVEL The Spirit Horses by Lou Cameron
The Court Martial of George Armstrong Custer by Douglas C. Jones
1975 NOVEL The Shootist by Glendon Swarthout
1974 NOVEL A Hanging In Sweetwater by Stephen Overholser
1973 NOVEL The Time It Never Rained by Elmer Kelton
1972 NOVEL A Killing in Kiowa by Lewis B. Patten
1971 NOVEL The Day the Cowboys Quit by Elmer Kelton
1970 NOVEL The Last Days of Wolf Garnett by Clifton Adams
1969 NOVEL Tragg's Choice by Clifton Adams
1968 NOVEL Down the Long Hills by Louis L'Amour
1967 NOVEL The Valdez Horses by Lee Hoffman
1966 NOVEL My Brother John by Herbert R. Purdum
1965 NOVEL Sam Chance by Benjamin Capp
1964 NOVEL The Trail to Ogallala by Benjamin Capps
1963 NOVEL Follow the Free Wind by Leigh Brackett
1962 NOVEL Comanche Captives by Fred Grove
1961 NOVEL The Honyocker by Giles Lutz
1960 NOVEL The Nameless Breed by Will C. Brown
1959 NOVEL Long Run by Nelson Nye
1958 NOVEL Short Cut to Red River by Noel Loomis
1957 NOVEL Buffalo Wagons by Elmer Kelton
1956 NOVEL High Gun by Leslie Ernenwein
1955 NOVEL Somewhere They Die by L.P. Holmes
1954 NOVEL The Violent Land by Wayne D. Overholser
1953 NOVEL Lawman by Lee Leighton